Print version: Print version of this Article   Email: Print this Article   Share: Share this Article

Associate Professor Jonathan Crowe
University of Queensland

Dr Kristen Rundle
University of Melbourne

Dr Lael Weis
University of Melbourne

The ASLP is the Australian Section of the International Association for Philosophy of Law and Social Philosophy (IVR). It was founded in 1961 at the University of Sydney where the administration of the Society remained until 1995 when it moved to the University of Queensland in Brisbane.  From 1999 until 2007, the Society was based at the Australian National University (ANU) in Canberra, before moving to Monash University in Melbourne from 2008 until 2013. It has now returned to the University of Queensland.

The aims of the Society are to promote the study and discussion of legal philosophy though publications and conferences. ‘Legal philosophy’ is construed broadly and includes philosophical, psychological, social and cultural studies of law. Since its inception the Society has drawn its membership principally from Law Schools, judges and legal practitioners, but also from philosophy and social science departments. Currently the Society has over one hundred members.

The Society holds an Annual Conference which anyone with an interest in legal philosophy is most welcome to attend. The Annual Conference is the main occasion for members of the Society to get together and to read papers on any topic within legal philosophy.

The Society publishes the Australian Journal of Legal Philosophy. This refereed journal (formerly the Bulletin of the Australian Society of Legal Philosophy), has been published annually for twenty five years.